Media

Hotel Barabas
Straight to prison!

A smooth and efficient cooperation with you as a media professional is close to our heart. In order to make the exchange of information as simple as possible, we ask you to contact us by e-mail or telephone. We will send you all important information about our company as well as pictures, media releases and logos. 

We look forward to your inquiries.

VIP Doppelzimmer Hotel Barabas Luzern
Zellengang Hotel Barabas Luzern

The most important in a nutshell

  • Former city prison from 1862 to 1998

  • Central location in the old town of Lucerne

  • Affordable and comfortable for lonely globetrotters, families, couples, friends as well as suitable for group travelers and couples

  • 60 cells as multi-bed, single, twin or family rooms with private bathrooms

  • Host: Jeannine Parolini

  • Restaurant: Japanese Izakaya Nozomi

1/1

Sleep behind Bars

In the past it was the central prison of Lucerne - today a comfortable hotel.
The Barabas Prison Hotel has a long and exciting history to tell. In 1862 the prison was built and was in operation until 1998. Many criminals had to stay in their cells, which were uncomfortable at that time. One of them was the artist Barabas, who was imprisoned until 1975 for refusing the war and whose name the hotel bears today.

The 60 former cells have now been converted into comfortable rooms and are perfect for guests on a smaller budget. From shared rooms with bunk bath for globetrotters or single, twin, triple and quadruple rooms with private bath for families, couples and friends. Something very special are our Superior cells. Guests who prefer a little more space can book into the former interrogation and visitors room or the former director's office. The prison's own library with a large collection of crime novels can also be booked exclusively as a room and lets you experience the prison feeling of yesteryear even more intensively. Even the former cell of the artist Barabas offers space for overnight stays. Poor Barabas was bored in his cell, which is why he began to paint his bare cell wall. He painted everything he was missing during his stay in prison, namely travel, money, love and wine. This painting can still be admired in the cell today.

Centrally located in the old town, the Barabas offers the perfect starting point for many activities in and around the city of Lucerne. The hotel has a large wind-protected courtyard with lots of greenery. Deck chairs, umbrellas, tables and chairs are available. In the lounge breakfast is served and there is the possibility to play table football as well as billiards. If you are hungry or thirsty, you can enjoy culinary delights at the in-house Japanese restaurant Izakaya Nozomi. The restaurant in the style of a Japanese village inn offers many different smaller dishes, which are shared and passed around the table. The Japanese taste experience is guaranteed! The large selection of selected sake completes the whole experience. 

The atmosphere in the former prison is familiar and uncomplicated. Everyone is welcome here, which is also reflected in the broad guest segment: From globetrotters on their own, to capable businessmen, couples to groups of friends, families and clubs.

Contact

Do you have further questions about Hotel Barabas or do you need documents for a publication? Our media officer will be happy to help you.

Simone Müller-Staubli

simone(@)schatz-ag.ch

www.schatz-ag.ch

médias

Hôtel Barabas
Directement en prison !

Une coopération fluide et efficace avec vous en tant que travailleur des médias est importante pour nous. Afin de rendre l'échange d'informations aussi simple que possible, vous pouvez télécharger des images, des logos et d'autres informations en utilisant le bouton ci-dessous.  

VIP Doppelzimmer Hotel Barabas Luzern
Zellengang Hotel Barabas Luzern

l'essentiel en bref

  • Ancienne prison municipale de 1862 à 1998

  • Situation centrale dans la vieille ville de Lucerne

  • Pas cher et confortable; adapté aux globe-trotters solitaires ainsi qu'aux voyageurs en groupe

  • 60 cellules en chambres multiples, individuelles, twin ou familiales avec salle de bain privée

  • Hôtesse : Jeannine Parolini

  • Restaurant : japonais Izakaya Nozomi

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
1/1

Dormir derrière les barreaux - dormir derrière les barreaux

C'était autrefois la prison centrale de Lucerne - maintenant un hôtel confortable.
Le Barabas Prison Hotel a une histoire longue et passionnante à raconter. La prison a été construite en 1862 et a fonctionné jusqu'en 1998. De nombreux criminels ont dû rester dans leurs cellules inconfortables à l'époque. L'un d'eux était l'artiste Barabas qui a été emprisonné pour avoir refusé la guerre jusqu'en 1975 et dont l'hôtel porte aujourd'hui le nom.

Les 60 anciennes cellules ont maintenant été agrandies en chambres confortables et sont parfaites pour les clients à petit budget. Des chambres à plusieurs lits avec salle de bain partagée pour les globe-trotters aux chambres simples, doubles, triples et à quatre lits avec salle de bain privée pour les familles, les couples et les amis. Nos cellules supérieures sont quelque chose de très spécial. Les clients qui préfèrent un peu plus d'espace peuvent être réservés dans l'ancienne salle d'interrogatoire et des visiteurs ou dans l'ancien bureau de gestion. La bibliothèque de la prison avec une grande collection de romans policiers peut également être réservée exclusivement comme salle et vous permet de vivre encore plus intensément le sentiment de la prison d'antan. Même l'ancienne cellule de l'artiste Barabas offre un espace pour les nuitées. L'ennui s'est emparé du pauvre Barabas dans sa cellule, c'est pourquoi il a commencé à peindre la paroi de sa cellule nue. Il a peint tout ce qui lui a manqué pendant son séjour en prison, à savoir les voyages, l'argent, l'amour et le vin. Ce tableau peut encore être admiré dans la cellule aujourd'hui.

Situé au centre de la vieille ville, le Barabas offre le point de départ idéal pour de nombreuses activités dans et autour de la ville de Lucerne. L'hôtel dispose d'une grande cour abritée avec beaucoup de verdure. Des chaises longues, des parasols, des tables et des chaises sont disponibles. Le petit-déjeuner est servi dans le salon et il est possible de jouer au baby-foot et au billard. Si vous avez faim ou soif, vous pourrez vous laisser tenter par des délices culinaires au restaurant japonais de l'hôtel Izakaya Nozomi. Le restaurant aux allures de pub de village japonais propose de nombreux petits plats différents, qui se partagent et se passent autour de la table. L'expérience gustative japonaise est garantie ! Le grand choix de sakés sélectionnés complète le tout.

L'atmosphère dans l'ancienne prison est familière et simple. Tout le monde est le bienvenu ici, ce qui se reflète également dans le large segment d'invités : des globe-trotters seuls aux hommes d'affaires compétents, des couples aux groupes d'amis, aux familles et aux clubs.

Contacter

Avez-vous d'autres questions sur l'Hôtel Barabas ou avez-vous besoin de plus de documents pour une publication ?
Notre responsable des médias se fera un plaisir de vous aider.

Martina Keiser

martina (@) schatz-ag.ch

www.schatz-ag.ch